The Master’s Degree Study Program in the Department of Agricultural Product Technology was originally a Post-Harvest Technology Interest under the auspices of the Plant Science Study Program with the status of KPK between Gadjah Mada University and Brawijaya University. Starting from the 1995/1996 academic year, the Post-Harvest Technology Study Program was initiated. At the end of April 1999, the Decree of the Director General of Higher Education No. 169/DIKTI/Kep./1999 which officially stated the establishment of this Study Program with a new name that was determined to be the Agricultural Product Technology Study Program (PS S-2 THP).

At that time, the management of PS S-2 THP was under the Postgraduate Program of Brawijaya University. On February 26, 2006 with the Decree of the Rector of UB No. 30/SK/2006, the management of all master and doctoral programs in UB was transferred to the faculty where the parent of science originated, so that the THP master’s degree program was transferred to the Faculty of Agricultural Technology.